Home Newsroom Press Releases School of Public Policy Appoints Rosina M. Bierbaum as Roy F. Weston Chair in Natural Economics

School of Public Policy Appoints Rosina M. Bierbaum as Roy F. Weston Chair in Natural Economics

Bierbaum’s appointment makes UMD the only university with two faculty members on the President’s Advisory Council on Science and Technology

The University of Maryland School of Public Policy is pleased to announce the appointment of Rosina M. Bierbaum as a research professor and Roy F. Weston Chair in Natural Economics at the School. 

Bierbaum will be an affiliate faculty member in the School’s new Center for Global Sustainability and will play a key role in the content development for the Climate Action 2016 summit to be co-sponsored by the School in May 2016.

She was formerly a dean of the School of Natural Resources and the Environment at the University of Michigan.  Rosina will continue to hold a fifty percent appointment at Michigan while picking up a fifty percent appointment at Maryland. She has experience in climate science, foreign relations and international development. She chairs the Scientific and Advisory Panel of the Global Environment Facility, serves on President Obama’s Council of Advisors of Science and Technology, is an Adaptation Fellow at the World Bank and the lead author of the U.S. National Climate Assessment.

Bierbaum served for two decades in the legislative and executive branches of the U.S. Government and ran the first Environment Division of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. She is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Ecological Society of America and Sigma Xi. She received the American Geophysical Union’s Waldo Smith award for extraordinary service to Geoscience and the Environmental Protection Agency’s Climate Protection Award. Bierbaum is a board member for the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, the Wildlife Conservation Society, the Federation of American Scientists, the Environmental and Energy Study Institute, the Climate Reality Project, the Morgan Stanley Institute for Sustainable Investing, the International Finance Corporation Business and Sustainability Group, and the Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement. She earned a BA in English, a BS in biology and a Ph.D. in ecology and evolution.