Home Newsroom Alumni News Distinguished Alumna of the Year Awarded to Dr. Chloe Schwenke from UMD School of Public Policy

Distinguished Alumna of the Year Awarded to Dr. Chloe Schwenke from UMD School of Public Policy

Dr. Chloe Schwenke

Every year the Alumni Association presents the Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award at the Alumni Association Awards Gala. The Maryland School of Public Policy was honored to have Dr. Chloe Schwenke receive the distinguished alumna award on October 25. This award showcases alumni from each college and school for “outstanding achievements, contributions to their industries or professions and/or service to the community.” This honor not only acknowledges the exceptional accomplishments of the individual, but it also recognizes the value of our programs and further fosters pride for the School of Public Policy and the University of Maryland.  It also shows present and future students the extraordinary impact they can have with an education from the University of Maryland School of Public Policy.

The Maryland School of Public Policy is very pleased to recognize this year’s recipient, Dr. Chloe Schwenke, Ph.D. ’02. Dr. Schwenke, vice president for global programs at Freedom House in Washington, D.C., is a development practitioner and academic with more than three decades of international experience, nearly half of it while living in developing countries. She has worked in a senior capacity with some of the leading American development organizations and as an independent consultant for USAID, World Bank and the Inter-American Development Bank. She was a Fulbright professor of development ethics at Makerere University in Uganda from 2005–06. Her scholarly interests include LGBT human rights, international development ethics, gender equality and female empowerment, urbanization and leadership. She is also an active member of the Religious Society of Friends and the parent of two children.Dr. David Crocker, who attended the Gala in Dr. Schwenke’s honor said,she gave a lovely speech and tribute to the School of Public Policy. Her family as well as several School staff and faculty were very proud.” The School of Public Policy is indeed pleased that our accomplished alumna was honored for her years of service in the international development community, and her many years of extraordinary work to come.

Past Recipients


Robin Funston M.P.M. '88
Director, Division of Project Coordination, Office of Recovery Act Coordination/HHS


Joan B. Rohlfing M.P.M. '86
President and CEO, Nuclear Threat Initiative


Debra Cammer Hines '87, M.P.M. '92 
Partner and Vice President, Global IBM Corporation


Lisa Calise Signori M.P.M. '92
Director, Administration & Finance, City of Boston


Jody A. Breckenridge M.P.P. '91
Rear Admiral and Commander, Eleventh Coast Guard District


David B. Mitchell M.P.P. '86
Secretary, Delaware Department of Safety and Homeland Security


Gwendolyn M. Hall '75, '86 M.P.P., '92 Ph.D.
Senior Director, Homeland Security


Kori Schake M.P.M. '87, M.A. '89, Ph.D. '96
Director, Defense Strategy and Requirements for the National Security Council


Maxine Isaacs Ph.D. '94
Adjunct Lecturer on Public Policy, John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University

About the Award


Former students who meet the following criteria will be considered for selection:

  • Professional Achievement – Candidates should have attained prominence in their chosen careers and their work should form a record of accomplishment.
  • Service – Candidates should demonstrate commitment to service through an interest in bettering the lives of others through volunteer efforts.
  • Integrity and Character – Candidates should exhibit personal integrity and character.

Nomination Process

To be considered, all nominations must include:

  • Completed Award Nomination Form
  • A letter of recommendation (not to exceed 2 pages) addressing significant accomplishments that qualify the individual for this award
  • Other relevant supporting documents not to exceed five pages

Selection Process The dean reviews nominations and selects a candidate to receive the Distinguished Alumnus Award.